Skip to content

This ‘n That

May 15, 2011

Here we go again, or at least here I go again. Wanna come along? The ride is said to be mighty fun. Or is it funny? I always get those two words confused. Some things are fun and some are funny, that much I understand. But it puzzles me when something is fun AND funny. Or funny AND fun. I can’t handle it. Give me one or give me the other but spare me both, at least at the same time in the same room with the same people. Which would I rather, you ask. Fun? Or funny? Well, fun is fun and there are those who would say that funny is funny, no doubt about it, so I guess it comes down to the way you were raised. Now I grew up in the Eisenhower 50s and back then, fun was out, a no-no, taboo, nix-nix (thank you, Carl!). Funny was OK though. We had Uncle Milty (funny), Sid Caesar (funny), Oswald the Rabbit funny books (obviously funny—the name says it all), and Studebakers (funny). But fun? None. Well, maybe if you were a Yankee fan (I was) you could have some fun. They won every game they played between 1949 and 1956, including all the World Series and even the all-star games. I guess I’d have to say I had some fun in between all the funny.

Those of you brought up in the 60s have a different slant. You remember it as a period of fun, but not funny. Vietnam wasn’t funny. The Freedom Rides weren’t funny, the assassinations weren’t funny, Kent State wasn’t funny, LBJ wasn’t funny, Richard Nixon wasn’t funny, Chicago in the summer of 1968 wasn’t funny. But fun? Ahhhh, that’s different! Dope was fun. Free Love was fun (and free!). Led Zeppelin was fun. Being a hippie was fun. Protesting was fun. Tie dye was fun. Shaking up the establishment, that was real fun.

But fun and funny? Together? Nah.

And, speaking of fun and funny . . .

A couple more ‘toonicons and it’s ‘bye till next week.


2 Comments leave one →
  1. NRJ permalink
    May 15, 2011 6:42 pm

    Was it Beanie or Cecil who said something was funny, and I don’t mean ha-ha? Anyway, being a child of the 40s and 50s who was under the influence of the beats (a pre-hippy state), we didn’t have “fun’ in the fifties because we would prefer to have stuff be “cool”, as in real cool man – later to be taken up and somewhat turned around by those hippies in the sixties – which also had an influence on me, of course. Real fun meant watching other people lay back and make fun of people making funny…

    BTW, I enjoyed your ten-hut pic. Alway appreciate a good military guy!

    • May 16, 2011 3:36 pm

      Yeah, even the American teen community in Guadalajara in the 50s worked hard at being “cool.” We rolled up the sleeves on our short-sleeve shirts, turned up the collar, sported DAs, all those things. Not so in the Mexican teen community. Maybe because it didn’t make any sense to be considered “frio.”

Leave a Reply

